index
archives
profile
bally
ivillage
esteem
calories
coach
notes
email
book
dland
RP Designs

My Diet Has Officially Started(2004-04-111:14 p.m.

Okay, I think my diet has officially started. I've gotten to where I'm comfortable with eating lighter, more balanced meals. It's just a matter of preparation, and making sure each essential meal component is there. Protein? Check. Fruit or vegetable? Check. Carbs? Check. Dairy? Check. Caffeine? Well, of course. Because if I'm short of any of these, I run the risk of feeling deprived and heading for the kitchen at night. And now, for the first time in my life, I think I know how to control my eating -- even though it's only the first day. I realize now that I can look at food in a different way; in a logical way rather than an emotional way. The fact that I don't feel hungry right now proves that balance is the key. It also takes patience, of course. It will be a while before I'm no longer horrified by my reflection in a plate glass window. I'll also have to watch my temper, because losing weight always makes me irritable. I'll probably have to read a lot of Marcus Aurelius to get through this.

last ~ next